JCSDA thrives through collaborative partnerships and a dedicated team.

Senior Management

Dr. Christopher Ekstrom (NAVY)
Mr. Craig McLean (NOAA/OAR)
Dr. Douglass Todroff (NAVY)
Dr. Jack Kaye (NASA)
Dr. Louis Uccellini (NOAA/NWS)
Ms. Mary Erickson (NOAA/NWS)
Dr. Michael Freilich (NASA)
Mr. Ralph Stoffler (AIR FORCE)
Dr. Stephen Volz (NOAA/NESDIS)

Management oversight board

Dr. Bill Lapenta, MOB Chair (NOAA/NWS/NCEP)
Dr. Brian Gross
Mr. David McCarren (Office of the Oceanographer of the Navy)
Mr. Harry Cikanek (NOAA/NESDIS/STAR)
Dr. James Hansen
Dr. Michael Farrar
Dr. Ming Ji
Dr. Robert Atlas (NOAA/OAR/AOML)
Dr. Steve Pawson, Chief (NOAA/NESDIS/STAR)
Dr. Tsengdar Lee

Executive Team

Dr. Thomas Auligne, Director (JCSDA)
Dr. James Yoe, Chief Administrative Officer (NOAA/NESDIS/STAR)
Dr. Daryl Kleist, Associate Director (NOAA/NWS/NCEP)
Lt. Col. John McMillen, Associate Director
Dr. Nancy Baker, Associate Director (USN/NRL)
Dr. Ron Gelaro, Associate Director (NASA/GSFC/GMAO)
Dr. Stan Benjamin, Associate Director (NOAA/OAR/ESRL/GSD)
Kevin Garrett, Associate Director

Core & In-kind staff

Boulder, Co

Katherine Shanahan, Core
Whitney Robinson, Core
Dr. Francois Vandenberghe, Core
Dr. Yannick Tremolet, Core
Dr. Stephen Herbener, Core
Dr. Mark Miesch, Core
Dr. Xin Zhang, Core
Dr. Anna Shylaeva, Core
Jim Rosinski, Core
Dr. Maryam Abdioskouei, Core
John Michalakes, In-kind
Chris Harrop, In-kind
Jeff Whitaker, In-kind
Mariusz Pagowiski, In-kind
Scott Gregory, In-kind
Clara Draper, In-kind
Bryan Flynt, In-kind
Ming Hu, In-kind
Lidia Cucurull, In-kind
Eric James, In-kind
Chris Snyder, In-kind
JJ Guerrette, In-kind
Junmei Ban, In-kind
Steven Vahl, In-kind
Dave Gill, In-kind
BJ Jung, In-kind
Jake Liu, In-kind
Craig Schwartz, In-kind

College park, Md

Sandra Claar, Core
Dr. Benjamin Johnson, Core
Dr. Guillaume Vernieres, Core
Dr. Hui Shao, Core
Dr. Suryakanti Dutta, Core
Dr. Patrick Stegmann, Core
Dr. Huichun (Emily) Liu, In-kind
Dr. Yanqiu Zhu, In-kind
Travis Sluka, In-kind
Stylianos Flampouris, In-kind
Yan Hao, In-kind
Dr. Andrew Collard, In-kind
Hyun-Chul Lee, In-kind
Dave Groff, In-kind
Dr. Ling Liu, In-kind
Dr. Yingtao Ma, In-kind
Dr. Changyong Cao, In-kind
Dr. Ming Chen, In-kind
Dr. Tong Zhu, In-kind
Biljana Orescanin, In-kind
Dr. Quanhua (Mark) Liu, In-kind
Krishna Kumar, In-kind

Monterey, CA

Dr. Benjamin Ruston, In-kind
Mayra Oyola, In-kind
Sergey Frolov, In-kind
Rolf Langland, In-kind
Sarah King, In-kind
Pedro Tsai, In-kind
Bill Campbell, In-kind

Greenbelt, MD

Dr. Hamideh Ebrahimi, Core
Dr. Dan Holdaway, Core
Dr. Isaac Moradi, In-kind
Dr. Will McCarty, In-kind
Dr. Amal El AkkraouiJing Guo, In-kind
Dr. Ricardo Todling, In-kind
Dr. Santha Akella, In-kind
Dr. Rahul Mahajan, In-kind
Dr. Bryan Karpowicz, In-kind
David Carvalho, In-kind


Dr. Thomas Greenwald (FFO/ROSES)


Dr. Jeffrey Cetola, In-kind